Quest: Challenge Guiding Fictions or “Supposed to” Beliefs

Image

Last week I had some not so great moments. I could tell my self-esteem was slipping. It was like I had an engine going down and I needed to do something about it fast before I crashed. I noticed my negative self-talk was back and running rampant. I pulled myself out of it by thinking about the positive things that were going on in my life and instead of getting caught up in my anxiety, looked outward and was caring towards others. I realized this could be a little dangerous because I have just been avoiding what I wanted to say. But, I admit I feel a zillion times better and things have been going a lot better. I reminded myself that if I exhibit confidence, that then it will seep out into my relationships and interactions with others too.

The other thing I did this week was finish the next chapter in the Healing the Trauma of Domestic Violence workbook, “Supposed to” Beliefs That Lead Women to Stay or Go Back. After finishing the chapters on guilt, I was amazed how easy this went. There is no doubt in my mind that leaving my abusive relationship with my ex-husband was in my best interest and the best decision I have ever made. And there is no doubt in my mind that I never want to be in an abusive relationship again. 

This week “Guiding Fictions” or “Supposed to” beliefs were on my mind. In one of my conversation with my SuperBetter ally, we talked about beliefs that have been very deep rooted in myself. These beliefs may have caused me to make certain decisions along the way in my life that I would not have ordinarily made if I didn’t have them. Some of these beliefs I have become aware of, especially the 7 “Supposed to” beliefs they discuss in the workbook chapter.

Some of these beliefs I realized I developed as a way of coping with what was going on in my life. I don’t know how many of these beliefs I’ll be able to recognize and see how they’re impacting the way I interact with the world. But, at least I am now conscious of the basic symptoms of post traumatic stress that I can now stop and question and even change what I am doing and why I am doing it, which may be the beliefs behind them. I realize that this can take a lot of work and I’m willing to do it because I’m going to feel a lot better and push what I can accomplish in life beyond what I thought was possible.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Marty on May 24, 2012 - 2:37 pm

    That is why we devlop our focus with the breath so we can discover our inner world. I learned to follow my breath when scary thought arrived so I could observe the body sensations instead of the story. This reveals what is under the story and where does fear and anger settle in the body. What does it feel like.

    Try going under the thoughts or trauma and feel the body mechanisms that correlate to the fear. get to know fear and see it is only an emotion. I have learned that fear is only a warning signs. fear does not hurt us and our trauma fears are not real. MOh the adrenal stresses mechanism fires off and that jolt is real. Oir fight or flight system is disordered for now.

    That can be fixed and improvement does not take that long with a daily practice and the right tools. Simple.

    Welcome to my blog marty
    Happy healing

Leave a Reply

