The Healing Power of Telling Stories

The other day I sat down and wrote up the work I had done in the last 3 of the final 4 chapters of the workbook and how it relates to my current life. I felt afterwards, I shouldn’t have done that, that no one is listening, and if they are, they’re just thinking, “shut up and get over it.” Then I read this today:

Tim O’Brien, Vietnam veteran, and author of The Things They Carried, once wrote: “Stories are for joining the past to the future. Stories are for those late hours in the night when you can’t remember how you got from where you were to where you are. Stories are for eternity, when memory is erased, when there is nothing to remember except the story.”

I believe stories can change the world. I always have and I always will. As a child, reading and writing saved my life. It’s why I became an English teacher. It’s why I wrote Thirty Days with My Father: Finding Peace from Wartime PTSD. I believe stories have the power to help us face our truths, to make us better understand each other, and to teach us the morality by which to live.

Stories can make the unseen seen. They can make the intangible tangible, the general specific. They can strike a chord in people and make them change—make them take action, and even help them heal—the way nothing else ever could.

Though I can hope day in and day out that my blog and sharing my experience with SuperBetter is helping others getting better from trauma, I know I am really doing it for myself. And I have strongly encouraged others to start their own blogs because it has been by far the most therapeutic thing I’ve done. It helps me keep track of my progress and makes me seriously check in with myself on how I am feeling in the present moment. Every time I get discouraged I remind myself of this and sit down and take the time to write.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

